First Newton UMC is pleased to offer the following scholarship opportunities for 2021. Application deadline is April 22, 2021.

Methodist Women Scholarship
This $1000 scholarship is a project of the Methodist Women of First United Methodist Church, Newton, NC, to financially assist a worthy student whose home is Catawba County in acquiring an education at a four-year college, junior college, community college or other accredited institution.  Guidelines for the United Methodist Women's Scholarship.

Odum Scholarship
Named for Mrs. Evelyn Mebane Odum, this scholarship was established to offer financial assistance of $1,500 per school year to a student attending a technical college, community college, or four year college or university. Scholarship recipients will benefit by two payments made to the college or university in the amount of $750 per semester with proof of enrollment and participation per semester. Recipient must provide appropriate proof of enrollment and participation, preferably before the beginning of each semester. This scholarship is renewable for four consecutive years (8 consecutive semesters) provided that the recipient is not placed on academic probation, has a lapse in enrollment, or fails to provide proof of enrollment and participation upon each semester.

Wellborn Scholarship
The Ruby Horne Wellborn Scholarship is a scholarship in her memory and endowed by her husband, McDonald Wellborn. The $1,500 annual scholarship(s) is presented in payments of $750 per semester for two semesters of one year and is renewable for up to 4 consecutive years for a student seeking a degree from a community college, technical college or four-year college or university . Preference is given to , but not limited to, a youth who participates in the First United Methodist Church of Newton Youth Program. This award(s) may be given to a high school student with a 2.5 to 3.99 grade point average. This award(s) may NOT be given to a 4.0 high school candidate and is limited to a student attending a public school in Catawba County.